QUICK LOOK: Big Bang “BLUE”

On a serious note….. Overall, I have to say that I’m disappointed with the ambience of the music video, which for me felt more or less like the male version of 2NE1’sLonely’. Despite promising ‘fresh’ looks for all the members, I feel that this song and video fails to adequately capture the development of Big Bang’s emotional and physical maturity.

On a lighter note….Taeyang’s mohawk has grown out, and I get the inkling that it will get tricky to style in the future. We’ll have to wait and see!

Who ‘won’ and who ‘failed’?

If you’ve been on the Kpop bandwagon for a while now, you know that in every music
video, there’s a ‘win’ member and a ‘fail’ member. For those who don’t know, the ‘win’ member is the one that stands out with the best clothes, accessories, hair and makeup. The ‘fail’ member is well…the one who ends up wearing the halter neck apron no one else wants. Previous examples of fail members:

Fail apron wearing members: Sungmin in ‘Mr. Simple’ and Junsu in ‘Ayyy Girl’

…..so who won?….

Now I’m going to make a generalisation here and state that Daesung is usually known as the ugly member of the group (although having seen him shirtless I beg to differ). This time, however, his mono-chrome silky smooth hair compliments his bone structure perfectly, giving his slit eyes an aura of mysteriousness and maturity. I also much prefer the ‘blonde’ of his hair over G Dragon’s ‘yellow’, however I do acknowledge that his look seems to have been copied from Super Junior’s Eunhyuk.

…….who lost?……

The major fail this time is Taeyang. I nearly spat coffee all over my Mac when I saw him. Really stylists, bandanas were cool, maybe… 10 years ago… And as for the zebra tights… well…I haven’t been so horrified since the days of Meteor Garden…..

Taeyang, bringing back the Meteor Garden fashion.....

Note: on closer inspection, the tights weren’t zebra, but black and white cracks. Still though, you known what they say about first impressions…

Seungri’s hair was also clearly a mistake. I have a feeling that his stylist was either a Naruto fan or suffering from lack of sleep.

I can't drool over this...I can't....

Prediction: 

Judging from their track record, Big Bang’s comeback song doesn’t usually get the same fan fare, or number of views as Super Junior or SNSD songs. As opposed to all the attention drawn to one song, they seem to do solidly across their entire track list.

However, YG seems to be innovating their strategy this time, promoting a total of 6 title tracks. The best outcome Big Bang can hope for is a sweep of the charts with all 6 songs dominating simultaneously. However, Big Bang will now be their own competition, with the risk that their ‘popular’ hits will start cannibalising the less catchy ones.

Check out the MV at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GRP1rkE4O0

Download the song at: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/id504496802

xoxo

Nic

Below is a link to of all the MV’s, songs and people mentioned. Check them out:

2NE1’s ‘Lonely’http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5n4V3lGEyG4&ob=av2e

JYJ’s ‘Ayyy Girl’http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkOlW4OVn7c

Super Junior’s ‘Mr.Simple’http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r6TwzSGYycM

Meteor Garden theme song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnBX5M7Xeow

More info about Big Bang’s promotional tracks: http://www.soompi.com/news/yg-reveals-big-bang-will-be-promoting-a-total-of-6-title-tracks

2 thoughts on “QUICK LOOK: Big Bang “BLUE”

  1. LOLOL. Their so-called ‘concept’ or ‘fashion’ here doesn’t really hit me right. I’m no fashionista, maybe that’s why I can’t appreciate this. I thought their hairstyles, and some of their clothes are totally weird haha.
    Except for Daesung who totally rocked the blonde, I liked GD’s long hair too, much better than the yellow bangs, way better.

    Seungri’s bowl cut, hahahah, never thought of that guy from Naruto. Who I remember from his hairstyle is the one in Star Trek, Spock. I don’t think that made his hairstyle any better. Hahahah. I don’t like Taeyang’s bandana or whatsoever you call that. TOP’s fine, except for the color of his hair.

    Despite the fashion-fail, I really liked the song. It’s really cool. Same way with Bad Boy. By the way, the MV of that song is not any better to this, haha. Maybe you could do something like this for that MV. ^^

Leave a comment