Quick Look: Psy “Gangnam Style”

A sexually aroused concert king and his mosquito bites

On a serious note… Psy has just released the much-anticipated music video for Gangnam Style on 15 July 2012. He composed both the music and lyrics himself and the video is graced with the presence of 4minute’s HyunA, MC Yoo Jae Suk, comedian Noh Hong Chul and more. His new album Psy’s Best Sixth will feature renowned artists such as G-Dragon, Leessang, Sung Shi Kyung, Yoon Do Hyun, Lena Park, and Kim Jin Pyo.

On a lighter note… OMG its freaking fantastic baby! The horse rein choreography makes my in-house spasms look tame by comparison and bought tears of sheer glee to my eyes. The song intro reminded me of fellow label-mate 2ne1‘s “I am the Best” and made me wonder if the hilarious snow scene was paying homage/parodying 2ne1’s new song “I love you”. Did you also notice that standing behind the comic version of Psy (on our home page) are the 5 member group Big Bang, sporting their Monster hairstyles.

The good … Probably every scene. Watch it and you’ll know what I’m talking about! But my personal favourite was the one below 😉 With thrusts like his, its no wonder former idol queen Bada is transfixed. (For kpop newbies SES was the rival group of FINKL, of which lee hyori was leader) Bada and Noh Hong Chul have had ongoing dating rumors for the last 10 years!


The bad … Personally, I was slightly disappointed by Yoo Jae Suk‘s cameo. Maybe its because I’ve become accustomed to his awkard dance movements through Running Man and wig bearing days in Family Outing. Nevertheless, i found his performance lacking and utterly boring. That said, it doesn’t mean I’m not a fan… cause I AM. But with Kang Ho Dong now administrating self house arrest due to his tax scandal, nearly ALL variety shows have flocked to YJS. Kudos to Claudius Galenus of Pergamum who once said:

“Acquaintance lessens fame.”

Makeup … Whoever did Hyuna’s eye makeup should be skinned, followed by some major salting. The downward sloping eyeline makes her whole face look saggy and the light brows make her resemble a balding grandma. I have a feeling the production team hired an amateur makeup artist given both Psy and YJS had shades.

Gangnam

So what is Gangnam?

Gangnam-gu is an affluent district south of the Han River in Seoul. Coex Mall and the important business district on Tehran Street are situated in the area. Oh that reminds me! Kim Nam Gil just got released from his public service personnel service at Gangnam-mu Seoul City on the 14th! Wasn’t there a special ceremony? Reminder: Kang Dong Won and Hyun Bin are also due to be released later this year.

And without further ado, aka i have some major stalking of KNG to do, here is the music video.

The video…

What were your thoughts on the music video? Love or Hate? Let us know!

xxx

Renee

6 thoughts on “Quick Look: Psy “Gangnam Style”

  1. Ah you’re so right. Hyuna’s eyebrows make her look like a geisha. For me, I hardly recognised MC YJS!

    p.s i liked your blue leopard background!

    • Thank you! Sorry for all the confusion today, me and Nic were doing some much needed maintenance. We hope you like the new format!

      Nic unfortunately disliked the leopard print so it got removed.
      😦

    • If Psy had an english album, i would push everyone out of the queue and with my nose pointed skywards, proudly hand over my purchase. He is the epidemy of cool!

  2. So I am 100% obsessed with the song and video, just purchased on iTunes. The digital booklet it comes with has lyrics however, they are in Korean. Does anyone know where I can see the lyrics in English? Can’t copy out of PDF to use Google Translate.

Leave a Reply

