Star of the Month: Ailee

Lee Ye Jin (Hangul: 에일리, born on May 30, 1989) better known by her stage name Ailee, is an Korean American singer under YMC Entertainment and was discovered by Wheesung. She released her first single, Heaven, on February 8, 2012. Unconsciously, I’ve been avoiding any Ailee-related news after watching her Halo performance. It’s not because I’m jealous, or feel like God almighty is seriously unfair, or even that my life is of ant sized significance compared to hers … no it’s not because of those reasons I’m avoiding her … it’s because I forget to breathe every time I listen to her. And as a human being, i would say breathing is pretty important. Wouldn’t you agree?

Pre Debut …

Before debut, Ailee was a Youtube sensation under the username of aileemusic. She also won Best Vocals in the 2006 NY Kollaboration. During her trainee days under YMC Entertainment, she was featured in Wheesung’s “They Are Coming” and Decipher’s “Catch Me If You Can”.

On September 13, 2011 Ailee and Wheesung held a performance on MBC’s Chuseok special episode of Singer and Trainee where Ailee was awarded first prize. Following Ailee’s solo performance of Beyonce’s “Halo”, judge BMK expressed, “Wherever she goes, she has the potential to be a big star. She definitely has the voice“. But it didn’t stop there for Ailee. On January 30, 2012 the artist made her acting debut in Dream High Season 2 as Ailee, one of the members of the K-pop group HerShe. (Photo: Ailee is on the right but what is up with the neck cramp?)

Debut…

On Feb 19 2012, Ailee released the music video for her debut song, “Heaven” which featured a special cameo appearance by BEAST‘s Gi Kwang. Ailee reached the #2 position on March 16’s KBS Music Bank K-Chart (losing to BIGBANG), a significant accomplishment for a rookie.

On February 22, 2012 she released her OST song “Superstar” for KBS’s Dream High 2 together with Hyorin & Ji Yeon.

Currently, she is undergoing promotions for “Heaven” and is a contestant on Immortal Song 2.

Preferences for guys … Since Ailee is still a rookie, there is a lack of in-dept interviews that deluges into necessary information such as this. But judging from my recent stalkings, she prefers guys who are laid back and think like a “white”.

Weight & Height … This beauty weighs in at 50kgs and is 164.5 cms tall. Pretty, skinny, talented, cool mindset and voluminous. Add salt to my wounds much? Blood type O and born in Denver, Colorado, USA.

Stalk her … 

She has perfect English and Korean language skills so she can actually understand your crazy expressions of love and admiration … or jealously.

www.twitter.com/aileeonline
www.cyworld.com/itzailee
www.youtube.com/aileemusic
www.formspring.me/aileeonline

http://www.youtube.com/aileemusic
http://www.myspace.com/mzailee

Performances that gave her this amazing virtue of being our Star of the Month…

I LOVE the expression of disbelief on the guy wearing the white shirt and black tie. He has “Where the hell did they find this alien?” stuck on his forehead. I watch this video every time i feel down and is the only Ailee video i can watch now breathing easy since I’ve like raped the repeat button. Since Ailee was born and raised in the US, she’s familiar with the American style of music and pulls off Halo superbly.

This is the complete episode of Singer and Trainer (Eng subbed) so check out the competition. I cringe every time I watch this. Wheesung why oh why did you have to sing (My Boo) and in English as well. Ailee should just be his mentor instead! Ailee’s stunning performance of Halo is towards the end but I’ve included the performance itself in the previous video for impatient people like me 🙂 This episode nailed it down for me – will be an Ailee fan for life. Even if i do avoid her performances most of the time. Inferiority complex and can’t fix it even if I tried.

Note: White Lacey outfits in fashion (also seen in Miss A’s “Touch”). Keep lower body simple to look elegant and a few sparkles to look posh. Keep sparkles limited to silver, diamond or white gold jewelry. Nothing glittery embroidered please or OTT.

Actually not a big fan of this music video. It reminds me too much of Halo. And this is what i thought before i watched her Halo performance!

On Immortal Song. One question: How come she didn’t win?

Sorry for the lack of comments for the later videos … think i forgot to breathe again. I’ve put up most of her performances after debut but for more – go check out her YouTube channel.

What do you think of Ailee? Is she too good to be true or another case of a 100 pounds of Beauty? The actual singer is behind the scenes or Ailee used to be heavier than my car. Will be keeping everyone updated!

xxx

A Conflicted Fan – Renee

7 thoughts on “Star of the Month: Ailee

  1. Hey girl ~ I’m totally with you here on this one. Ailee has an *impeccable* voice. Hearing her sing “Halo” and her solo song “Heaven,” I’m like ~ “WHAT IS LIFE AND WHY IS IT SO UNFAIR?!” One thing that really interests me is how she’s from NJ (I’m also from the US, northeast), and how she featured a white guy in her Heaven MV (the guy who everyone says looks like Jesus LOL). So I’m not surprised she’s more into white guys than Asian ones, haha.

  2. She’s super hot this Ailee. Haven’t heard about her until I came across one of her popular videos on YouTube. Sings great in English as well!

  3. I’m so glad Ailee made it this far! I remember a few years ago I watched a few of her videos but I didn’t know she was korean back then AHA! Until one day she appeared in a article I saw on allkpop. My eyes went O.O when she was mentioned! But Yes,
    Ailee definitely has potential to exceed ♥

  4. I go back to the Halo video so many times and every time I’m just blown away again. She puts so much emotion into her voice and it’s absolutely stunning ❤ I really really love evening sky especially. so beautiful!!!

  5. Behind the scenes singers are pretty much impossible in korea. That was just a movie. The only thing close enough to what you’re talking about is lip-synching. And also, the thing is there are other singers considered as good as Ailee in Korea. What I’m going to say next is irrelevant, but she’s also not considered that skinny or pretty by korean and east asian standards, but I know where’re you’re coming from.

  6. Hello girls~
    I just wanted to ask you if you knew the name of that mysterious guy called “Jesus” in Heaven’s MV. That guy is realllllly sexy and I wanna know more about him but I can’t find its name.. thanks girls~ ♥♥

Leave a Reply

