The Chocolate Diet: Results

Two weeks ago I embarked upon a journey into the weird and fantastical realm of Korean fad diets. My Destination: Skinny Land. My Loyal Companion: Chocolate.

The ‘Chocolate Diet’, as invented by yours truly, consisted of eating a kilojoule specific amount of chocolate for a period of 2 weeks. Read about it here.

Soooo what were the results?

Weight-loss:

In total, I lost 3 kg in 2 weeks. However, I suspect that most of this was ‘water weight’ as opposed to actual body fat. My jeans do feel a teeny bit looser but I’m still terribly untoned. Fat that used to jiggle…continues to jiggle.

Skin:

For those dermatologists who claim that chocolate doesn’t give you pimples, I have two words for them: ‘you’re wrong’. Now my skin is not perfect but other than a few blackheads, I have never had any major issues with acne. That is, until now. I’m not sure if it was stress, lack of sleep, the over-consumption of chocolate or a combination of the three but I completely broke-out all over my forehead. I even started getting some pimples on my cheeks; the really gross ones with yellow pus heads. Ewww.

Mood:

When I’m hungry I get really really really grouchy (my friends and family will testify to this -in fact, they usually feed me in order to placate me). The most difficult part of the chocolate diet was eating my day’s worth of chocolate before 9am in the morning, and then realising that I wouldn’t have any food for the rest of the day.

At the end of this, I can honestly say I now know how underfed kpop stars feel. My mood alternated from wanting to tear people’s heads off to constant repeating to myself “self-control, will power, self-control, willpower’.

Conclusion:

I don’t think I want to eat or even smell chocolate for a very long time. Was it worth the trouble to lose 3 kgs? Not really, simply because I think I’m going to gain all the weight back. Also I’m pretty sure I’m closer to getting diabetes than I was 2 weeks ago. *Sigh* Sacrificing my health for all you loyal readers hehe.

xoxo

Nic

2 thoughts on “The Chocolate Diet: Results

  1. Omg I love you. I can’t believe you actually stuck to this insane diet! It’s a good thing you lost weight but I honestly think slowly cutting out calories and daily exercise is the way to go….:/ I think for the rest of us out there, that is unfortunately the way it is…sadly. If you go on a “regular” diet, let me know how it goes!

    • HAHAHA love love love your comment! I think the novelty of going on a crazy fad dies around Day 2 LOL. Unfortunately now that I’ve released myself from the obligation of dieting I feel the need to run around and eat everything in sight :P. Renee’s starting the Banana Diet next week…hopefully she doesn’t faint hahaha

Leave a Reply

