The “BEST LOOKING” Agency?

Over the years, SM Entertainment has acquired the token association of being the ‘best looking‘ agency in the industry. Famous for producing entertainers like SNSD and DBSK, the company has an reputation for debuting artists of mediocre (or no) talent, but with god/goddess like good looks. However, is SM really the best looking agency? Let’s have a look at the evidence.

Ask yourself these questions honestly.

Who in Super Junior would be considered to have god-like looks? I can only come up with Siwon.

Who is SNSD is objectively good looking? I’ve got Sooyoung, Tiffany and Seohyun (everyone else just looks like an ordinary girl).

What about DBSK? ….. I’m Xiah bias but without his charisma, well….

And should we even consider Shinee?…..

In other words, maybe 30% of SM Artists are dangerously attractive, 60% are good looking (with makeup & lighting) and 10% is Shindong. This is probably the same distribution in YG or JYP.

It was only when I began convincing myself that Eunhyuk was pretty hot that I realised the extent to which SM had made gullible fans of us all. How have they done this? Well, there are two possible explanations: 1) the Cheerleader effect and 2) Emotional Contagion.

The Cheerleader effect:

The Cheerleader effect is used to describe a situation when a group of girls/guys look attractive together, but when viewed individually, are actually not that hot. Take a look at Super Junior for instance:

As a group: HOTNESS OVERLOAD! *fan girl explosion* -> puddle on the floor

As individuals: UMM……WAT?

The cheerleader effect is perhaps why SM tends to debut groups with more than 5 people, and in the case of Super Junior (where there are more faces to hide), 13 people.

Emotional Contagion:

When I first joined the Kpop scene, I couldn’t understand why everyone found Yoona and/or Jaejoong so terribly good looking. For me, Yoona just looked like a normal girl, and Jaejoong…well…he also looked like a normal girl. It wasn’t too long before I started spazzing over them haha. I blame this on Emotional Contagion.

Emotional Contagion is a physiological phenomenon where we mimic other people’s feelings and adopt them as our own, thus leading to emotional convergence. So for example, if all your friends think a particular person is attractive, you may also start adopting this belief. This is similar to the ‘bandwagon effect’ and ‘herd mentality’. Emotional contagion is an effective business strategy because all that SM needs to do is plant the first seeds of ‘obsession‘, and then let our impressionable human nature do it’s work. Ah that wickedly evil Lee Soo Man! ๐Ÿ˜›

Do you agree with the above? Or am I just trying to use pop culture and science to mask my extreme jealousy? Hit the Comments and let me know!

xoxo

Nic

5 thoughts on “The “BEST LOOKING” Agency?

  1. This is interesting. I agree with all your points. I am an ELF and my favorite is KYU but I don’t find him good-looking at all! LOL! I just like his soothing voice. ^^

    In regards with YOONA, (without the jealous fangirl grudge I hold for her because of LEE SEUNG GI) YEAH! SHE’S CUTE BUT DEFINITELY NOT A GODDESS JUST LIKE WHAT OTHERS CLAIM HER TO BE! Heh ๐Ÿ˜€ Seo Hyun is my girl in SNSD.

  2. I agree ๐Ÿ™‚ I never got sucked in by the emotional cantogian but the cheerleader effect yes. Most of SM’s entertainers look good as a group. There are momets though where I’ll see someone in the group and drool over them individually lol. But I don’t think SM deserves the “most attractive artists” title.

    • I remember when I first saw Super Junior and SNSD, I thought they all looked exactly the same haha. It was only after following them for a while when I realised that some were less ‘drool-worthy’ than others ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Ah so true ๐Ÿ˜€ I also don’t get dragged into the whole emotional one though, I … Yoona’s popularity is a mystery to me. But, I find for example Eunhyuk so amazing, I blame the over-exposure in variety~ I am a huge fan but even I have to agree, he’s not at all handsome, charming at most. I guess the cheerleader effect works better ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

